CALENDAR: ART HISTORY 132 Spring 2020 Section C Lecturer: Joel Hollander, Ph.D.

CALENDAR: ART HISTORY 132 Spring 2020 Section C

Lecturer: Joel Hollander, Ph.D.

DAY DATE TOPIC READING

Mon. Jan. 13

Introduction

 

Wed. Jan. 15 Early Renaissance — Flemish

Ch. 19

Van Eyck

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Jan. 1 9

 

Fri. Jan. 17 Early Renaissance — Flemish (cont.)

Ch. 20

 

Mon. Jan. 20 NO CLASS — HOLIDAY

(MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. DAY)

 

Wed. Jan. 22 Early Renaissance — Italian

Ch. 20

Donatello

Video Reflection due by Sun., Jan. 19

 

Fri. Jan. 24 Early Renaissance — Italian (cont.)

Ch. 20

Masaccio

Video Reflection due by Sun., Jan. 26

 

Mon. Jan. 27

 

Early Renaissance — Italian (cont.)

 

Ch. 20

Botticelli

Video Reflection due by Sun., Feb. 2

 

 

 

Wed.

Jan. 29

 

High Renaissance — Leonardo

Ch. 21

Leonardo

Video Reflection due by Sun., Feb. 2

Last Day to Drop

a Course Without a “W”

Fri. Jan. 31

High Renaissance — Leonardo (cont.)

High Renaissance — Raphael

Ch. 21

Raphael

Video Reflection due by Sun., Feb. 2

 

Mon. Feb. 3

 

High Renaissance — Raphael

High Ren. — Michelangelo

 

 

Ch. 21

Wed.

Feb. 5

High Ren. — Michelangelo (cont.)

Ch. 21

Michelangelo

Video Reflection due by Sun., Feb. 9

 

Fri. Feb. 7

 

Venetian Renaissance

 

Ch. 21

Titian

Video Reflection due by Sun., Feb . 9

 

Mon. Feb.10

Venetian Renaissance (cont.)

 

Mannerism

Ch. 22

 

 

 

 

Ch. 22

 

 

 

Wed. Feb. 12 Mannerism (cont.)

 

B ro n z in o Video Reflection

due by Sun., F eb. 16

Fri. Feb. 14

Northern Renaissance

Ch. 22

EXAM # 1

Available on-line from Fri., Feb. 14 at 5pm until

11:59pm on Tues., Feb. 18

 

Mon. Feb. 17

 

Baroque — Italian Sculpture

 

Ch. 23

Bernini

Video Reflection

due by Sun., F eb . 23

 

Wed. Feb. 19

Baroque — Italian painting

 

Ch. 23

 

Caravaggio

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Feb. 23

 

Fri. Feb. 21

Baroque — Italian painting (cont.)

 

Baroque — Spanish

Ch. 23

 

Velazquez

Video Reflection

due by Sun., F eb . 23

 

Mon. Feb. 24

NO CLASS

 

 

 

Wed.

 

Feb. 26 Baroque — French

 

Ch. 30

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ch. 30

 

 

Fri.

Feb. 28

 

Baroque — Flemish

Baroque — Dutch

 

Rubens Video Reflection

due by Sun., Mar. 1

 

Mon. Mar. 2

 

Baroque — Dutch (cont.)

 

Ch. 30

 

Rembrandt

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Mar. 8

 

Wed. Mar. 4

Rococo

Neoclassicism

 

Ch. 30

Watteau

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Mar. 8

 

J-L David

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Mar. 8

 

Fri. Mar. 6

 

Romanticism

 

Ch. 30

 

Visual Analysis Paper

Due by Fri., Mar. 6

 

Mon. Mar. 9

NO CLASS — SPRING RECESS

 

Wed.

Mar. 11 NO CLASS — SPRING RECESS

 

Fri. Mar. 13

NO CLASS — SPRING RECESS

 

 

Mon.

 

Mar. 16

 

Romanticism (cont.)

Ch. 30

 

Goya Video Reflection

due by Sun., Mar. 8

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wed. Mar. 18

Romanticism (cont.)

Ch. 30

 

Delacroix

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Mar. 22

 

EXAM #2

Available on-line

Wed., Mar. 18 @ 5pm until Sun., Mar. 22

 

Fri. Mar. 20

 

Realism

 

Ch. 31

Mon.

Mar. 23

 

Impressionism (cont.)

 

Ch. 31

Manet

Video Reflection due by Sun., Mar. 29

 

Wed. Mar. 25

Impressionism (cont.)

 

Ch. 31

Monet

Video Reflection due by Sun., Mar. 29

Renoir

Video Reflection due by Sun., Mar. 29

Last Day to Drop

a Course/Withdraw

 

 

 

 

Ch. 31

 

 

 

Fri.

 

Mar. 27

 

Impressionism (cont.)

Ch. 31

Degas

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Mar. 29

 

Mon. Mar. 30 Impressionism (cont.)

Ch. 31

Rodin

Video Reflection due by Sun., Apr. 5

 

Wed. Apr. 1

 

Neo-Impressionism

 

 

Ch. 32

Seurat

Video Reflection due by Sun., Apr. 5

 

Fri. Apr. 3

 

Post-Impressionism (cont.)

 

Ch. 32

Toulouse-Lautrec Video Reflection

due by Sun., Apr. 12

 

Van Gogh

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Apr. 12

Mon. Apr. 6

 

Post-Impressionism (cont.)

 

Ch. 32

Gauguin

Video Reflection due by Sun., Apr. 12

 

Cézanne Video Reflection

due by Sun., Apr. 12

 

Wed. Apr. 8

 

Symbolism

 

Ch. 32

 

EXAM #3

 

 

 

Available on-line from Wed., Apr. 8 @ 5pm

until Sun., Apr. 12

 

Fri.

 

Apr. 10

 

French Expressionism

German Expressionism

Ch. 32

 

Matisse

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Ap r. 19

Kandinsky

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Apr . 19

 

Mon. Apr. 13

 

German Expressionism (cont.)

 

Ch. 32

 

Dix

Video Reflection due by Sun., Ap r. 19

 

Wed.

 

Apr. 15

Cubism

 

Ch. 32

 

Picasso 1

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Ap r. 19

 

Fri. Apr. 17

 

Cubism (cont.)

 

Ch. 32

 

Picasso 2

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Ap r. 19

 

Mon. Apr. 20

Cubism (cont.)

Ch. 32

 

Futurism

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Ap r. 26

 

 

 

Wed. Apr. 22

Pittura Metafisica

 

Dadaism

Ch. 32

 

Duchamp

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Ap r. 26

 

Fri. Apr. 24 Surrealism

Ch. 32

 

Dalí

Video Reflection

due by Sun., Ap r. 26

 

Fri.

 

May 1

 

EXAM #4

 

Available ONLY on-line only on Fri., May 1

from 8:00am-11:59pm

© The Board of Trustees, University of Miami

Created by Joel A. Hollander, Ph.D. Revised: February 28, 2020

Is this part of your assignment? Get trusted writers to serve you on on your task
Our experts will take care of your task no matter the deadline!
Use the following coupon
"SAVE15"

Order Now